Williamsburg Restaurant Spotlight: Moto

Williamsburg Restaurant Spotlight: Moto

Moto really is a hidden gem of Williamsburg. It is home to legitimately amazing French/New American cuisine and also hosts live music whose schedule is available here. It is located under the Hewes St. JM subway stop. The exterior is a bit intimidating and if you aren’t already headed there knowing its a restaurant, its likely you’ll miss it. I’ve been to Moto four times, three of which were for brunch, but once for dinner, and each time was better than the last.

Williamsburg Restaurant Spotlight: Moto

The eclectically decorated, restaurant is small and cash-only so its advisable that you go in maximum a group of four, unless you want to wait.

Williamsburg Restaurant Spotlight: Moto

Each time I’ve been for brunch, the same country/blue grass band, which the chalk board schedule describes as Country Trio have played. And to be honest, I’m a bit obsessed with them. They sing songs that just make me super happy — some with themes like “I can’t believe I got you pregnant again.” It’s lighthearted, upbeat and different than hearing “Call Me Maybe” every ten seconds at every other place you go.

Williamsburg Restaurant Spotlight: Moto

I’ve ordered several brunch dishes in the times I’ve been there, but some of those were PB (pre-blog) so I don’t have full photographic documentation of them. For dinner, I had the Chicken Dijonaise that was out of control amazing. The chicken was perfectly cooked and juicy, while the sauce was light and virtually perfect.

For brunch this time around I ordered the Baked Eggs. I’d debated ordering them multiple times in the past, but wasn’t sure what they would looks like so got intimidated, but this time I went for it. Great choice. The eggs were baked in a crispy piece of ham and cooked beautifully. It was served with a crispy piece of bread, that I believe to be baked with some kind of cheese.

Williamsburg Restaurant Spotlight: Moto

Right now, I’m drawing a major blank on what Brent ordered and the brunch menu isn’t available online (at least I can’t find it.) So that’s kind of weak, but it did taste great. It was some kind of meat and potato hash, with a harisa-type taste to it, served with eggs over easy on top.

Williamsburg Restaurant Spotlight: Moto

If I had to choose between the two, I’d pick baked eggs, but both were delicious. I’ll have to go back and find out what the meat of this dish was and update the page. Either way, Moto is great, everyone should go there!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment